SOUDERTON AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT 760 Lower Road Souderton, PA 18964

The annual reorganization meeting of the Souderton Area Board of School Directors was held on Thursday, December 5, 2013, at the Souderton Area School District Administrative Office Building. The meeting was called to order at 6:35 PM by Secretary, William R. Stone, Jr., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present were:

PRESENT: Nicholas A. Braccio

Thomas A. Kwiatkowski Donna M. Scheuren

Scott C. Jelinski Ken R. Keith

RE-ELECTED

MEMBERS PRESENT: Jill S. Basile

Matt Holliday

William J. Brong

NEWLY ELECTED

MEMBER PRESENT: Janet M. Flisak

SOLICITOR: Kyle Berman, Esq.

Also present at the meeting were: Judge Kent H. Albright, Maryellen Brousseau, Donna Brown, Henry Franz, Sharon Fuhrman, Frank Gallagher, Dr. Christopher Hey, Tim Roberts, Walter Salevsky, Elisa Snedaker (*Treasurer*), William Stone (*Secretary*), family and friends of members, a reporter from *The Reporter* newspaper, and community members.

Mr. Stone read the Notice of the Organization Meeting that appeared in *The Reporter*, newspaper of record, on November 25, 2013.

COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

There were no comments.

NOMINATIONS FOR TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Mr. Jelinski nominated Mr. Keith as temporary president. There were no other nominations.

Mr. Kwiatkowski seconded the motion to close the nominations for temporary president.

Mr. Stone called for a vote, nominating Mr. Keith as temporary president. The seated members of the Board voted and on a vote of five (5) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was...

DECLARED, That the nominations for Temporary president are closed.

ELECTION OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Mr. Stone called for a vote to elect Mr. Keith as temporary president. The vote was taken, and on a vote of five (5) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was...

RESOLVED, That the Board elect **Mr**. **Keith** as temporary president.

Mr. Stone declared Mr. Keith as temporary president and asked Mr. Keith to assume the gavel.

SEATING OF RE-ELECTED AND NEWLY ELECTED MEMBERS

Mr. Stone mentioned that the Certificates of Election had not been received at this point.

The Honorable Judge Kent H. Albright proceeded with the Oath of Office for the three (3) re-elected members of the Board. The following members were sworn in for a four (4) year term. Family members assisted with the swearing in ceremony.

JILL S. BASILE WILLIAM J. BRONG MATT HOLLIDAY

Judge Albright proceeded with the Oath of Office for the newly elected member who was recently elected to a four (4) year term:

JANET M. FLISAK

Mrs. Flisak's family members assisted with her swearing in ceremony.

Mr. Keith welcomed Mrs. Flisak to the Board and wished her well in her new position.

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT FOR ENSUING YEAR

Term of one (1) year

Mr. Keith called for nominations for President.

There was a motion by Mr. Kwiatkowski to nominate Mr. Jelinski as the President for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

Mr. Keith called for a motion to close the nominations for President. There was a motion by Mr. Brong, with a second by Mrs. Basile to close the nominations.

Mr. Keith called for a vote to close the nominations. The vote was taken, and on a vote of nine (9) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was...

DECLARED, That nominations for President were closed and a vote was to be cast for President.

Mr. Stone called for a roll call vote on the nomination of Mr. Jelinski as President.

Jill Basile – YesJanet Flisak – YesThomas Kwiatkowski - YesNicholas Braccio – YesMatt Holliday – YesDonna Scheuren - YesWilliam Brong – YesKen Keith – YesScott Jelinski – Yes

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT FOR ENSUING YEAR (CONTINUED)

The roll call vote was taken, and on a vote of nine (9) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was . . .

DECLARED, That **SCOTT JELINSKI** was voted as President for one (1) year term, December 2013 to December 2014.

Mr. Jelinski thanked the members for their support and he is looking forward to working with the Board in the coming year.

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE PRESIDENT FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

Mr. Jelinski opened the floor for nominations for Vice President.

Mr. Keith nominated Mr. Kwiatkowski for Vice President. There were no other nominations.

Mr. Brong offered a motion to close the nominations for Vice President. Mrs. Scheuren seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and on a vote of nine (9) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was...

DECLARED. That nominations for Vice President were closed and the vote was to be cast.

Mr. Stone called for a roll call vote on the nomination of Mr. Kwiatkowski as Vice President.

Jill Basile – YesJanet Flisak – YesThomas Kwiatkowski - YesNicholas Braccio – YesMatt Holliday – YesDonna Scheuren - YesWilliam Brong – YesKen Keith – YesScott Jelinski – Yes

The roll call vote was taken, and on a vote of nine (9) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was . . .

DECLARED, That **THOMAS KWIATKOWSKI** was voted as Vice President for a one (1) year term, December 2013 to December 2014.

Mr. Kwiatkowski took the chair of the Vice President.

Mr. Jelinski re-appointed **JILL BASILE** as the Legislative Liaison for both PSBA and the Montgomery County Intermediate Unit.

Mr. Jelinski appointed himself to sit as a member of the Indian Valley Education Foundation Committee to replace Bernard Currie.

RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE CONTINUATION OF EXISTING SIGNATURE PLATES

A Resolution was made to authorize the continuation of the use of the existing signature plates reflecting Bernard S. Currie as President and Elisa Snedaker as Treasurer until such time as new signature plates can be prepared reflecting the new officer appointment. The Director of Business Affairs is authorized to arrange for the preparation of said signature plates so that the intent of this Resolution can be effectuated.

Mr. Jelinski called for a motion to approve the Resolution regarding signature plates.

RESOLUTION TO AUTHORIZE CONTINUATION OF EXISTING SIGNATURE PLATES (CONTINUED)

There was a motion by Mrs. Basile, with a second by Mrs. Scheuren to cast the vote in favor of approving the Resolution.

The vote was taken, and with a vote of nine (9) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, the vote was . . .

RESOLVED, That the Board approve the Resolution authorizing the continuation of existing signature plates until the time that new signature plates are acquired.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Mr. Jelinski indicated that he would make the Board Committee appointments later in the week.

COMMENTS FROM THE BOARD

No comments.

COMMENTS FROM THE SUPERINTENDENT

Mr. Gallagher spoke on behalf of the Cabinet members and thanked the Board for their work and dedication. He also welcomed Mrs. Flisak to the Board.

COMMENTS FROM THE PUBLIC

Mr. Brian Engemann, resident of Harleysville and parent of a student at Indian Valley Middle School, thanked the Board for their service and decisions that they have made to make Souderton a great school district.

ADJOURN REORGANIZATION MEETING

With no other business to discuss, a motion was made by Mrs. Basile, with a second by Mr. Keith to adjourn the meeting. The vote was taken, and on a vote of nine (9) affirmative votes to zero (0) negative votes, it was...

RESOLVED, That the Board adjourn their meeting at 6:47 PM.

Respectfully,

William R. Stone, Jr. Board Secretary