

# BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS -Board Reorganization Meeting Minutes Non-Election Year Monday, December 5, 2022

Generated by Renai Cardillo on Tuesday, December 6, 2022

**Members present:** Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

Members absent: Tom Kwiatkowski

Others present: Henry Franz, Frank Gallagher, Christopher Hey, Katie Kennedy-Reilly, Michael Taylor, and Megan Zweiback

## 1. Call to Order

1.1 Call to Order - Board Secretary

Mr. Taylor called the meeting called to order at 6:30 P.M. and read the names of the School Directors; Mrs. Courtney Barbieri, Mr. Nick Braccio, Mr. William Brong, Mrs. Janet Flisak, Mr. Andrew Landis, Mr. Ken Keith, Mr. Thomas Kwiatkowski, Mr. Stephen M. Nelson, and Mrs. Donna Scheuren.

## 2. Salute to the Flag

2.1 Salute to the Flag

Mr. Taylor led the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### 3. Roll Call

3.1 Roll Call

Mr. Taylor called the roll and stated that eight Board members were present.

#### 4. Notice of the Reorganization Meeting

4.1 Notice of the Organization Meeting

Mr. Taylor announced the annual reorganization meeting of the Souderton Area School District Board of School Directors. It is Monday, December 5th, 2022. This meeting is being held in the Tinner Board Room at the District Administrative Office Building, 760 Lower Road, Souderton, PA. The purpose of this meeting is to hold the annual election of officers. No other business will be transacted at this meeting.

#### 5. Comments from the Public

5.1 Comments from the Public

There were no comments from the public.

#### **6. Nominations for Temporary President**

6.1 Nominations for Temporary President

Mr. Taylor opened the floor for nominations for Temporary President.

MOTION TO ACCEPT NOMINATIONS FOR THE OFFICE OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Motion by Ken Keith, second by Donna Scheuren.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

#### 7. Election of Temporary President

7.1 Election of Temporary President

Mr. Brong was elected Temporary President

MOTION TO ELECT THE TEMPORARY PRESIDENT

Motion by Donna Scheuren, second by Stephen Nelson. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

#### 8. Nominations for Board President

8.1 Nominations for Board President for a Term of One (1) Year

Mrs. Brong opened the floor for nominations of Board President

MOTION TO ACCEPT NOMINATIONS FOR THE OFFICE OF BOARD PRESIDENT FOR A TERM OF ONE (1) YEAR

Motion by Donna Scheuren, second by Stephen Nelson. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

#### 9. Election of Board President

9.1 Election of Board President for a Term of One (1) Year

Mr. Keith was nominated to serve and accepted the gavel.

MOTION TO ELECT THE BOARD PRESIDENT FOR A ONE (1) YEAR TERM

Motion by Donna Scheuren, second by Stephen Nelson. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

#### **10. Nominations for Board Vice President**

10.1 Nominations for Board Vice President for a Term of One (1) Year

Mr. Keith opened the nominations for Board Vice President.

MOTION TO ACCEPT NOMINATIONS FOR THE OFFICE OF VICE PRESIDENT FOR A TERM OF ONE (1) YEAR

Motion by Courtney Barbieri, second by Donna Scheuren. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

#### **11. Election of Board Vice President**

11.1 Election of Vice President for a Term of One (1) Year

Mr. Nelson was elected to serve as Board Vice President

Motion by Courtney Barbieri, second by Donna Scheuren Final Resolution: Motion Carries Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

Mr. Keith thanked fellow Board members, acknowledging their time commitment to serve on the Board. Mr. Keith stated that it remains and honor and a privilege to serve.

Mr. Keith thanked Mrs. Scheuren for her service to the Board in the role of Board Vice President.

Mrs. Scheuren thanked Mr. Keith for his heartfelt words and his leadership. She stated that is leadership has been inspirational and always professional. She also acknowledged the tumultuous and unprecedented times in which they served. Mrs. Scheuren congratulated Mr. Nelson.

Mr. Keith thanked the administration for their work with the Board. Mr. Keith also congratulated Mr. Nelson in the role of Vice President.

Mr. Nelson thanked fellow Board members for their confidence and reiterated his commitment to serve. Mr. Nelson also thanked Mr. Keith and Mrs. Scheuren.

## **12.** Resolution to Authorize Continuation of Existing Signature Plates (Optional)

12.1 Resolution to Authorize Continuation of Existing Signature Plates (Optional)

Mr. Keith announced that the existing signature plates would continue to be used as there were no changes.

#### **13. Committee Appointments**

13.1 Committee Appointments

Mr. Keith stated that Committee assignments would be remain the same and reviewed for changes in the next few months.

#### 14. Comments from the Board

14.1 Comments from the Board

There were no comments from the Board

#### 15. Comments from the Superintendent

15.1 Comments from the Superintendent

Dr. Gallagher congratulated Mr. Keith and Mr. Nelson on their positions, praising each one for their commitment to the success of the organization. Dr. Gallagher also thanked Mrs. Scheuren for her service

#### 16. Comments from the Public

16.1 Comments from the Public

There were no comments from the public.

#### 17. Adjournment

17.1 Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:55 P.M.

MOTION TO ADJOURN THE REORGANIZATION MEETING

Motion by Nicholas Braccio, second by Donna Scheuren. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Aye: Courtney Barbieri, Nicholas Braccio, William Brong, Janet Flisak, Andrew Landis, Ken Keith, Stephen Nelson, Donna Scheuren

Respectfully submitted,

Michael Taylor, C.P.A. Board Secretary / Director of Business Affairs